15 May 1916 – 4 More Squadron’s formed


Malcolm Christie

The rapid expansion of the RFC continues apace, having to cover all the fighting fronts as well as home defence. There are now 57 active squadrons in the RFC, 26 of which have been formed since the beginning of the year. In addition to this there are 20 Reserve Squadrons.

The new Squadrons formed today are 50, 51, 52 and 53. 50 and 51 Squadrons were formed at Dover and Thetford respectively and will serve as Home Defence Squadrons equipped mainly with various BE2 types. 50 Squadron is commanded by Major Malcolm Christie.

52 Squadron is based at Houndslow and will operate as a Corps reconnaissance squadron. It is equipped with BE2c’s and is commanded by Major Leonard Parker.

Based at Catterick, 53 Squadron will act as a training squadron. It too is equipped with BE2c’s.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s